Deep chemistry questions

I have been using ridiculously challenging (and interesting) chemistry questions for my 1st year chemistry class. To the extent that I have made the questions harder and had students focus on deep practice (as opposed to grades), I have found that students enjoy the quizzes more. Here is the quiz for today.

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.48.36 AM

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.48.46 AM

After such a quiz, I have students compare their work with a solution key. They then identify areas where they can push themselves further. Here is a questionnaire they complete.

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.46.11 AM

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.46.38 AM

The goal is that they will be able to write their own gnarly, challenging problem sets and solution key. Here is a questionnaire that guides them through that process.

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.44.11 AM

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 11.45.06 AM

I hope that students in my course define their own interests and objectives, and as they write their own interesting questions for their peers, they will render me obsolete.

I am a math and science teacher at a boarding school in Delaware.

Tagged with:
Posted in Deep work, quiz

Leave a Reply

